Mosey music is a study in contrasts.
There's glitz and grit, reveling and wallowing, wretchedness and showmanship. Mosey music's pioneers wore their battered hearts on sequined sleeves. From Bakersfield to Galveston, the legends traded their tragicomic highs and lows for gold records and white Cadillacs. But that was then; the days of Buckaroos, Nudie Suits and various Hanks are over, save for the museum displays. To quote a George Jones title track, "Who's Gonna Fill Their Shoes?"

Enter Daniel Romano, a songwriter who delivers mosey croonin' and hard luck storytelling. While references to marquee names like Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings and Merle Haggard are apparent in Romano's music, the obvious influences certainly don't demystify his talent. Romano works with equal parts authenticity and creativity, and his musical world is rich with archetypes and archrivals, wry observations and earnest confessions.

Romano's solo debut, Workin' For The Music Man (2010) announced a new artistic bearing. The follow-up, Sleep Beneath The Willow, was pure honky tonk poetry, and again received impressive response from all corners. The "dreamy homage to a bygone country-music era" (Globe & Mail) made the Polaris Long List, and solidified Romano's reputation as a solo artist.

Come Cry With Me furthers his Mosey aesthetic, musical and visual. Again self-produced and played, for the most part, by himself, Romano's new album continues with themes of bad choices, hard times, boozing and losing. Amidst the tales of woebegone orphans, family knots and broken hearts, there are spoken word yarns that recall Hank Williams-as-Luke The Drifter. Romano's deep rumbling baritone vocal dips serve, conversely, to lighten the mood, leaving no doubt that this artist knows how to deliver a punch line.

Come Cry With Me was released on Normaltown Records on January 22, 2013.

Releases by Daniel Romano:

"Sings a losing song" (DAV-021) A 45 including 2 alternate mixes of "music man" songs released April 2010 on Dine Alone Records.

"Songs for misha" (YC-005) is a 12" 45 consisting of 4 songs dedicated toMisha Bower. (no official release date)

"Workin' for the Music Man" (YC-006) the first full length album includes 11 original songs released June 1st 2010 on You've Changed Records.

"Sleep Beneath the Willow" (YC-010) the second full length album includes 11 original songs released April 5th 2011 on You've Changed Records.

Other Album appearances and production:

"Still Jimmie" by shotgun Jimmie (YC-001) Daniel plays various insruments on this album which was produced at his house by Julien Brousseau.

"Daniel, Fred and Julie" (YC-003) A project spearheaded by Romano of traditional folk songs performed by Daniel, with Fred Squire and Julie Doiron.

"Dog Weather" by Baby Eagle (YC-008) Daniel Romano plays lead guitar on this album.

"Too beautiful to work" by the Luyas (DOC055) Daniel Performs on some songs on this album.

"Bring me your love" by City and Colour (VR495) performance of variousinstruments and secondary production. (released 2007)

"Little Hell" by City and Colour performance of various instruments (released june 2011)

"All of it was mine" by the Weather Station (YC-011) Recorded and Produced by Romano. (released august 2011)

Press esc to close.
Press esc to close.

Connecting to your webcam.

You may be prompted by your browser for permission.